Connect With Us:
The voice of Manilla since 1899
HomeNewsMitch Inaugural ‘Man of the Series’

Mitch Inaugural ‘Man of the Series’

Mitch Doring with nterim Group 4 chairman Terry Psarakis

Mitch Doring became the inaugural Bottlemart Man Of The Series when the Wests Entertainment Rugby League Group 9’s wound up at Scully Park Regional Sporting Precinct on Saturday night.

The 24-year-old pivot had gone into Finals night with a one-point lead over Carey’s Freight Lines’ skipper Brenton Cochrane but ended up winning by three points.He polled five points on the night, grabbing a vital two points in his side’s narrow semi final loss to eventual winners Marius Street Family Dental.

At the same time Brenton Cochrane had polled the three points to draw level with Doring on 12 points after the semi-finals.

Mitch, however, claimed the Bottlemart three points in the playoff with Shay Brennan and then looked on as Brenton and his CFL teammates lost their first game of the WEG 9’s in a stunning 22-15 loss to Marius Street Family Dental.

Try as he might Brenton couldn’t find enough time and opportunities to weave his 9’s magic and not only missed out on the team prize but the individual accolade as well.

Mitch Doring (from Manilla) was delighted to be named the inaugural WEG 9’s Player of the Series.

“It’s an honour to receive this,” he said after interim Group 4 chairman Terry Psarakis handed him the $200 Bottlemart Man Of The Series voucher.

“It was pretty close with Cocko all the way. I was just lucky they (Marius Street Family Dental) shut him down in the last game (Final).”

He said his determination to “get my hands on the ball as much as possible in the final two games” paid off.

“It’s been a great competition though, a great concept and was great everyone got behind it.”


15: Mitch Doring (JT Fossey).
12: Brenton Cochrane (Carey’s Freight Lines).
7: Sam Taylor (CFL).
5: Brayden Reid (CFL), Cody Tickle (Shay Brennan Constructions), Matt Wilson (Marius Street Family Dental).
4: Mitch Dening, Scott Blanch (MSFD).
3: Phil Beaton, Ben Williams, Clay Frendin (CFL), Dan Boland (SBC), Mitch Dening, Deacon Sankey, Brett Jarrett (MSFD).
2: Cooper Thompson (CFL), Ryan Ingram, Mitch Sheridan, Trent Taylor, Shuaib Rhodes-Swain (MSFD), Liam Ball, Harlee Millgate, Sam Sadler (JTF).
1: Kobe Bone (JTF), Daniel Jobson, Dylan Lake, Bryce Daniels (SBC).

Photo: Mitch Doring (right), Bottlemart Player Of The Series, with interim Group 4 chairman Terry Psarakis (left) at Saturday night’s Finals